IPOPHL Identifies Official PH Entries to the ASEAN Jewellery Design Competition

In recognition of the long tradition of jewellery and in support of ASEAN creativity, the EU-ASEAN Project on the Protection of Intellectual Property Rights (ECAP III) and the Office for Harmonization in the Internal Market (OHIM) organized an ASEAN-wide jewellery design competition. Also an initiative in raising awareness on Intellectual Property Rights (IPR) and the upcoming ASEAN economic integration, the Intellectual Property Office of the Philippines (IPOPHL) has been designated to spearhead the national phase in the Philippines.

From 40 entries, six were chosen by judges Arch. Daisy Palattao (Innovation and Technology Support Office of DLSU-D), Mr. Angelino Gabon (for jeweller Mr. Hans Brumman), fashion designer Ms. Lulu Tan-Gan, Executive Director Myrna Sunico (Design Center of the Philippines), and IPOPHL Deputy Director General Nelson Laluces to be the Philippines’ official entries to the 2015 Creative ASEAN Jewellery Design Competition.


From left to right: DDG Nelson Laluces, Arch. Daisy Palattao, Ms. Minda del Rio of IPOPHL, Ms. Lulu Tan-Gan, Mr. Angelino Gabon, and Mr. Luis Jose Manalang for Executive Director Myrna Sunico.

The official PH entries will be sent to the Thailand-based ECAP III. The regional jury will then select one entry per ASEAN country to join the winners’ podium. Each winner will be given the chance to showcase their entries in the 56th BKK Gems and Jewellery Fair on September 2015 in Thailand and a study visit to John Hardy in Bali, Indonesia.

The following are the PH finalists:





The judges and finalists with IPOPHL Directors Carmen Peralta (second from left), Epifanio Evasco (third from left) and Frisco Guce (rightmost)